Tags

, ,

Out of all the cupcake recipes available to me either on the Internet, cookbooks or magazines, I ended up baking Chocolate Zucchini with Cinnamon Buttercream for a church bake sale.  An unlikely choice for me, really, because I don’t care very much for chocolate. I’ll reach for caramel & vanilla first.  But there was something about the combination of chocolate, zucchini, and cinnamon that drew me to this recipe.  I took a chance and went with this recipe I found at yourcupofcake.  You should check out this site – there are so many recipes for cupcakes and other goodies.

I love the darkness of the cake, the pretty wrapper, and the flecks of cinnamon.  It just draws you in.

Who wouldn’t want to bite into one?

Chocolate Zucchini Cake:

Makes 26.

2 cups sugar

3/4 cup applesauce

3/4 cup oil

4 eggs

1-1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

2-1/3 cups flour

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa (I used Ghiradelli)

2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cinnamon

3 cups grated zucchini

Cinnamon Buttercream:

8 oz. cream cheese

1/2 cup butter, softened

1-1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1-1/2 tsp. vanilla

3-1/2 cups powdered sugar

1-3 tablespoons milk (I used 1 Tbsp)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line pans with cupcake liners.

Combine sugar, apple sauce, and oil.

On low speed, add eggs one at a time until combined.  Add vanilla.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon.  Sift if needed to get rid of lumps.

Slowly add dry ingredients to the wet.

Add grated zucchini.

Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full and bake for 15-20 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Buttercream:  Beat cream cheese and butter together.  Add remaining ingredients and adjust as needed to reach desired consistency.  Pipe onto cooled cupcakes.