Tags

, , , , ,

What??!! A pumpkin pie recipe post for March? That’s right!  I’m such a rebel!  All I’ve been seeing lately on Facebook and Pinterest is bunny cookies and grass cupcakes and here I am posting my humble crustless pumpkin pie.  Hmmmm……with good reason.  Read on.

It was time for me to come up with a diabetic friendly recipe for ETR 2013.  Being that it is such a challenge to find good diabetic desserts, I figured no one would raise an eyebrow when presented with this dessert.  Who said there are rules about these things anyway, although I must admit, it would be odd to present Easter basket cupcakes in December.  Ha!

Fall desserts have an all-year-round appeal for me, I guess.  Wouldn’t you agree?  Never mind that it’s diabetic friendly.  This is just plain good; a classic.  Whipped cream optional.  Now just enjoy….and Happy Almost Spring!P1240029(my only pic)

Basic Crustless Pumpkin Pie

Source:  diabeticlivingonline.com

Makes 8 servings

Carbs per serving: 20

1 15 ounce can pumpkin

1/3 cup sugar or sugar substitute* equivalent to 1/3 cup sugar

2 tablespoons honey

1-1/2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

1/2 cup refrigerated or frozen egg product, thawed, or 2 eggs, lightly beaten

1 teaspoon vanilla

3/4 cup evaporated fat-free milk

Method:

1.  Preheat oven to 350 F.  Lightly grease an 8-inch springform pan.  In a medium bowl, combine pumpkin, sugar, honey, and pie spice.  Add eggs and vanilla.  Beat lightly just until combined.  Gradually stir in evaporated milk.  Pour into prepared pan and place on a foil-lined baking sheet.

2.  Bake for 45 to 50 minutes or until center appears set when gently shaken.  Cool for 1 hour on a wire rack.  Cover and chill for at least 2 hours or up to 24 hours before serving.

3.  To serve, loosen pie from sides of pan by running a thin metal spatula around the edge.  Remove sides of pan.  Cut pie into wedges to serve.  Makes 8 servings (1 slice each).

*Sugar Substitutes:

4.  Choose from Splenda granular or Sweet’N Low bulk or packets.  Follow package directions to use product amount equivalent to 1/3 cup sugar.

Note:  I actually had to double the recipe and used a 10-inch springform pan.  I got a little happy and accidentally poured double the amount of evaporated milk.  The result was a thick pie for a 10-inch springform pan.

