Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s the middle of summer, and I’m in the mood to make some pumpkin bread. Crazy, I know, but I my family welcomes this yummy bread any day.  It’s one of our favorites, and a favorite of my church family and friends.  I have already posted a pumpkin bread recipe here which has cranberries and a cream cheese/marshmallow creme frosting which I save for Fall and Christmas when cranberries are in season.  It’s nice to have two versions, because with this one I can make any time of year. It’s so moist and full of spices like cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg.

This recipe is made in 2 bowls, one for the wet ingredients and one for the dry. First, combine the sugar, oil and eggs.  Then add the pumpkin, like so:

In a separate bowl, combine all the dry ingredients and the spices. Just pile them on and stir.

At this point, you have 2 bowls, the wet and the dry. Now you want to add the dry to the wet alternately with the 1/2 cup water.  You end up with a big bowl of pumpin mixture.

When it’s all mixed, pour into your greased pans. I divided mine into 3 pans (2 smaller and 1 larger because that’s what I have on hand, and I can easily share a loaf. The recipe below is the original recipe. I’ve made no changes.  Having 3 loaves just works for me.

The house smells incredible now with all those spices!

Pumpkin bread, any time of the year…no waiting until the Fall Season!

Pumpkin Spice Bread

Source: Taste of Home Holiday Recipe Card Collection 1998, submitted byDelora Lucas, West Virginia

3 cups sugar

1 cup vegetable oil

4 eggs, lightly beaten

1 can (16 oz) solid-pack pumpkin

2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp. ground cloves

1/2 tsp. ground allspice

1/2 cup water

DIRECTIONS:  In a large bowl, combine sugar, oil and eggs.  Add pumpkin and mix well.  Combine dry ingredients; add to the pumpkin mixture alternatively with water.  Pour into 2 greased 9-in. x 5-in. x 3-in. loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 60-70 minutes or until bread tests done.  Cool in pans 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack; cool completely.  Yield: 2 loaves.

