Tags

,

I’ve been cooking up some of our favorite foods this past week now that we have ended our 21-day Daniel Fast.  If you don’t know what the Daniel Fast is, or if you want to see some of the things I made for the Daniel Fast, you can visit my Facebook Page.  Some of our favorites I cooked up last week:  Grilled salmon, lemon chicken, crockpot beef, taquitos with rice and beans, chicken enchiladas, and these peanut butter cookies:

You know, the criss-cross with a fork kind, made with Jiff brand peanut butter…soft on the inside with a crunchy outside, the kind you remember from childhood.  Ah, sweet memories!   Sometimes after dinner, my husband will ask, “What’s for dessert?” with the expectation like I’m supposed to have something home baked, every day (yeah, right!) I replied, “well, I could bake some cookies,” and he said, “how about peanut butter?” Yep, I could do that, I  have all ingredients.   That would be a perfect ending to a long day, and I get to bake.  I’m happy, my husband’s happy, boys are happy….

but not my 6 year old.

What?

Why not, you ask?

Simple:  Because she’s tired of peanut butter, let alone in cookies. I think it has to do with the fact that she ate mostly peanut butter (no jelly) sandwiches for the greater part of Kindergarten last year and she’s just tired of PB (it happens!).  Every day she would ask for it.

I really hope she would change her mind about these peanut butter cookies because I want her to have sweet memories of these cookies like I have.


Old-Fashioned Peanut Butter Cookies

Source:  The Bon Appétit Cookbook

Makes about 48

3 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup creamy or chunky peanut butter (do not use the old fashion style or freshly ground)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cups (packed golden brown sugar

1 cup sugar

2 large eggs.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Line 2 large rimmed baking sheets with parchment paper. Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt in medium bowl to blend.  Using electric mixer, beat butter, peanut butter, and vanilla in a large bowl until  well blended.  Beat in both sugars.  Scrape down sides of bowl.  Stir in half of flour mixture.  Add eggs 1 at a time, stirring to blend well after each addition.  Mix in remaining flour mixture.

For each cookie, roll 1 heaping tablespoonful dough into 1-3/4 inch diameter ball.  Arrange dough balls on prepared baking sheets, spacing 2-1/2 inches apart.  Using back of fork, flatten dough balls and form crosshatch design on tops.  Bake cookies until dry on top and golden brown on the bottom, about 14 minutes.  Cool cookies on sheets 5 minutes.  Using metal spatula, transfer cookies to racks and cool completely (Can be prepared 3 days ahead.  Store in airtight container at room temperature.

