Tags

, , ,

Ah, Pinterest! Are you on? For people who don’t know what Pinterest is, it’s a virtual pin board where you can catalog and share the things you love.  When I first saw it, I didn’t like it because I didn’t want to reveal what I liked for all to see.  It’s like an open book and I wanted to keep it closed.  Selfish, I know, haha! But then one day I saw a picture of a beautiful umbrella in the “invite screen” and I decided to join on the spot.

Guy de Jean “Can Can” Purple Umbrella

That umbrella was going to be my first pin, I decided.  After I signed up, I looked for that umbrella, and you know what? I couldn’t find it! Well, I decided to pin and the more I saw, the more I pinned.  Re-pinned, actually.  Re-pinned other people’s pins, who had re-pinned other people’s and…(you get it?).  Pretty soon you have a board. You pin pictures.  You follow people. You Ooo & Ahh!  And I’m a good re-pinner! For days I was pinning, staying up late and pinned, and pinned.  I was hooked! Pinterest members know what I’m talking about.  You just get in “The Zone” and you walk away feeling inspired without doing a thing.  Yeah, gotta love it :o)

I saw this eggnog bread on Pinterest and I pinned it to my Cooking and Baking board.  I decided to try it out because then I could say that I actually tried something from Pinterest and say to myself that all this pinning isn’t a waste of time, ha! But seriously, Pinterest is a catalog.  Of the things you love.  And it’s nice to share.

Eggnog Quick Bread

Source: justapinch.com

Ingredients:

2 eggs

1 cup sugar

1 cup eggnog

1/2 cup butter, melted

2 tsp. rum extract

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2-1/4 cup all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Eggnog glaze: 3/4 cup sifted confectioner’s sugar (to ensure no lumps), enough eggnog to make a glaze (I used about 2 tablespoons).

Directions:

1.  Beat eggs in a large bowl.  Then add next 5 ingredients, blending well.  Add remaining ingredients and stir until just moist.  Pour into a greased 9×5 loaf pan and bake at 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes.  Makes one loaf.

