Tags

,

Many years ago, my sister shared this molasses cookie recipe, and I am so grateful. I have been making it ever since.  It is my kids’ absolute favorite cookie.  You can’t just eat one, I tell you, and it screams Fall.  I bake this any time of the year because we love it so much.  I always double the recipe because they go fast.

Molasses Cookies

3/4 cup shortening

1/4 cup molasses

1 cup sugar

1 egg

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ginger

1/2 teaspoon salt

Melt shortening, let cool.  Add sugar, molasses, egg.  Beat well.  In a separate bowl, sift the flour, soda, and spices.  Add to mixture.  Mix well.  Chill.

Roll into 1 inch balls.  Roll ball into sugar.  Bake at 375 degrees on ungreased cookie sheet for 8-10 minutes.

