A year ago if you told me that I would start a food blog in 2011, I would laugh and say, “oh no, that’s not for me!”  It seems like so much work! I was just fine managing my Facebook page called Casa del Kuchen – posting pictures, sharing recipes, and talking about anything food related.   I started CdK on Facebook last September because a pregnant friend of mine one time declared, “you’re torturing me!” when I posted a picture of something.  I felt bad, and that statement resonated with me, and that’s when I decided to start a food page.  Then I could post whatever I wanted:  Cakes sold to a friend, a special chocolate cake with ganache for my sister-in-law’s birthday, events, etc.

As months passed,  I began to “Like” more and more Facebook food pages. I read.  I gawked.  I learned.  I got inspired.  I baked. I took pictures. Through it all, I have come to two conclusions:

1.  Most of people who have food pages on FB have their own food blog, and they are in Twitter.  They link all three.  Wow, was I at a disadvantage.

2.  There is a wonderful community of food bloggers out there who are very talented and they love what they do.  They have talent, and they want to share. To all of them, I say thank you, because y’all inspire me!

So, here I am now, a year later….still on Facebook, new to Twitter as of 3 weeks ago (with 90+ Tweets, lol!) and now I’m starting a blog.  Whew! Don’t know how I going to to manage all this plus being a wife and mother of 3 children, an active church goer, and holding down a full time job?  And, what about that burning question….will you all like me? But here’s what I do know: I love to bake and sometimes cook, and the time to start a food blog right now just makes sense.

So, here goes! Happy Anniversary to me…Happy Birthday to my sister-in-law (yes, your cake is coming), and hello to you!

