Tags

,

Do you need a go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe that’s thick and chewy?  Aren’t those the best?  I’m not a real big fan of chocolate chip cookies, but if it’s chewy on the inside and crisp on the outside, move over, I’m ready for my 3.  Recently I was asked to make some chocolate chip cookies for a church bake sale, and my friend who asked me to bake said, “You know the kind…the big, and thick and chewy ones!” I said, “Oh yes, I know the kind.” In my head I’m thinking my husband’s going to make them – he’s the expert chocolate chip cookie maker around here.  Well, it turned out he was too busy, and guess what?  The essential ingredient was not in my pantry and it was getting late in the evening (a plan already screaming fail!), so I couldn’t use his recipe.  Not to fear, I thought…I’ll just search some of my favorite blogs.  Browneyedbaker is one of them not only because it was one of the first food blogs I ever discovered and I’ve tried 1 or 2 recipes of hers in the past and they turned out great. Well, sure enough, she had a recipe called Thick and Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I’m telling you, it’s like the the angels were singing!.  Thick and chewy it said. Yes! BEB knew exactly the kind of cookie I was looking for; after all, we are kindred spirits; she would not let me down.   So, I gave it a try, but…oops!, I didn’t melt the butter like it said to, but you know what? It still turned out great.  I would call this my go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe.  You can make this in a pinch. I even made more the next day for my family – the right way as instructed in the recipe, melting the butter which I think is even better because if you are ever in a hurry to make cookies, you don’t have a wait-for-the-butter-to-soften issue.

Here’s the link:  www.browneyedbaker.com/2008/06/21/thick-and-chewy-chocolate-chip-cookies/

I must admit though…I do have another chocolate chip cookie recipe that I must try.  I wasn’t looking for another recipe, it just caught my attention because of all the pre-instructions/explanations.  Wow! A cookie dough that I have to refrigerate for 24 hours or longer? Hmmm….better not tell my family until I’m ready to bake them off.

